PROJECTS // DENIM MOSS MINI SKIRT

Hello, dear reader!

The first finished project I’d like to share with you on here is my new Moss Mini skirt. Truly, I’ve been shopping around for the perfect denim skirt for what seems like ever – something very simple in a moderate length and with a comfortable fit. But I’ve never found the right one (at least within my price range). So I was so delighted when I spotted Grainline’s latest pattern release. It’s just what I’ve been looking for – a great wardrobe staple! And it certainly pairs so well with so many things in my wardrobe.

PATTERN: Moss Mini Skirt by Grainline

FABRICS: Reversible denim (dark blue on one side and burgundy red on the other), Liberty “Darcie” print tana lawn as pocket lining

MODIFICATIONS: I lengthened the skirt by 6cm and added belt loops (for slim leather belts)

THOUGHTS: First of all, the fit of the skirt is amazing! We all know that Grainline’s patterns are incredibly well designed. It sits just perfectly below the waist, neither too low nor too high. Oh, and I can’t keep my hands out of the pockets! This was the first time I inserted a fly, but the step-by-step instructions were very easy to follow. The only thing I had slight troubles with was attaching the waistband to the skirt, but I believe I made a minor mistake while cutting the fabric. All in all, it’s a great pattern!

I already have beautiful burgundy red corduroy set aside for another one. And I’d love to make yet another one in velvet, wool, or even suede… doesn’t that sound dreamy?

Okay, off to the sewing machine!

Love,

Louise

15 responses to “PROJECTS // DENIM MOSS MINI SKIRT

  1. Dear Louise, I love it. It looks like the perfect fit and oh the burgundy corduroy is going to be beautiful!!! YAY SEWING!! and ps YAY BLOGGING. :) (I am girlreactioncrafts on flickr. I don’t blog all that often anymore. but once in a while. oh but I also don’t keep archives. long story. why am I telling you this? I don’t even know.)

    • Oh my dear – you’re too sweet! Thanks for the encouragement! And please, keep telling me those things! Yes, I can’t wait to sew up the corduroy version, so great for fall! Hopping over to your flickr/blog now – I’m excited to catch up on your projects! :)

  2. glad to see you have a blog! its a very nice space. i love this whole outfit. :)

    • Thank you so much, I really appreciate it! I’m so glad you like it! There are so many blog things I still need to figure out (especially the technical aspects)… I hope you’re well! I’m looking forward to see what you’ve been up to! :)

  3. Welcome to the blogging world! Fun and addictive, and oh so positive! :) I’m just coming up on my one-year blogiversary ,and I honestly can’t remember what i did before, or why I didn’t start blogging years ago!
    I love your skirt – I’ve been waiting to see this pattern made up!

    • Thanks! Wow, I’m glad I started this blog already… because I just came back from your fantastic blog! So many cute projects to check out! Thanks for stopping by… it’s so nice to meet you! :)

  4. Love the new blog and the skirt! It’s the first Moss I’ve seen out in “the wild” haha! Can’t wait to follow along with your sewing adventures here!

    • Thanks so much! I just got back from a short weekend trip and am amazed at how many people stopped by (just because of you!!). I bet there’ll be so many more versions of this pattern popping up on blogs VERY soon… it’s a great pattern!

  5. Great to see your skirt. I’m cutting out my Moss muslin tonight. I’m debating between View A with added inches or View B with the band. My denim is pretty heavy so I’m not sure. Hope mine comes out as cute as yours. Welcome to blogland!

    • Thanks! I hope your muslin turned out great! I was torn between View A and B too, but opted for View A with added length because of the thickness of my fabric. I found it in a local fabric store and immediately fell in love with it! Luckily, I bought too much of it, because I’d love to use it for contrasting pieces (like the band, waistband or pockets…). Ooh, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  6. Oh, and where did you get that incredible bi-color denim? I haven’t seen that before.

  7. Welcome to blogland! I’m so glad you’ve started a blog – I’ve loved following you on Flickr!
    Lovely Moss skirt – the fit is great. This is next on my list, so it’s great to see another version.

    • Thank you, you’re too sweet!! Yes, I’m in love with the fit… especially the back (which I shamefully forgot to take a picture of)! I’m looking forward to seeing yours – I love everything you make! And I think you’re going to love it!

  8. I just stumbled upon your blog and I am so glad I did – another SEAMSTRESS!

    I couldn’t agree more that finding a good denim skirt – as well as a pair of jeans – is hard. I love the one that you made and I think it is a great staple. I also love the fabric you use – double faced denim? Hell yeh!

    • Ooh, Maddie! I really really admire your blog (and your style)! It’s so unbelievably inspiring and tremendously helpful. Yes, finding the perfect pair of jeans is even more frustrating! Luckily, I do have a few I really love. And who needs jeans, if there are cute skirts to be sewn and worn? :) Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

