PROJECTS // COMPTOIR DES COTONNIERS INSPIRED SCOUT TEE

Hello, dear reader!

I have a weakness for earthy autumnal tones, especially the color palette of leaves – ranging from yellow to brown, passing through red and plum.  It’s probably the reason why I’m so deeply in love with the Liberty print I used for my latest project! Yes, another Scout Tee… but they’re just so unbelievably comfortable! I mostly buy my sewing notions in a department store – that means I always have to pass through the women’s fashion department (among which is the French Comptoir des Cotonniers) first. I’m usually in deep thought, daydreaming about upcoming sewing projects, as I walk through uncountable racks of clothes. A few weeks ago, I spotted this lovely silk blouse with triangle cut-outs on the neckline… of course it immediately inspired me to try something very similar!

PATTERN: Scout Woven Tee by Grainline

FABRICS: Liberty “A Stitch in Time” print tana lawn

MODIFICATIONS: I lengthened the shirt and sleeves and added triangle cut-outs to the neckline and sleeves

THOUGHTS: Personally, I just love the loose and modern fit of the Scout Tee! It pairs so well with the cottony drape and unique softness of Liberty tana lawn. And I’m actually pleased with the look of the triangle cut-outs! They certainly add some visual interest to my otherwise rather monotonous fall outfits. I just need to choose carefully what I wear underneath.

Have a calm weekend!

Love,

Louise

10 responses to “PROJECTS // COMPTOIR DES COTONNIERS INSPIRED SCOUT TEE

  1. Louise, this is exquisite. Can you share a bit about how you did the cutouts?

    • Thank you, Heather! And I’m so sorry it took me so long to get back to you! I planned on sewing something similar for a friend for Christmas (to capture the whole process in pictures). Oh well, that never happened (due to our renovation plans!). To be honest, I fear that an accurate description probably exceeds my language skills (especially without any pictures!). But I’ll just try my best anyway! I actually used two different techniques for the neckline and for the sleeves, but both involve facings. Here are my steps for the neckline facing: (1) First, I created a pattern piece for a neckline facing. (2) I then cut out, interfaced and finished the lower edge of the neckline facing. (3) Next, I pinned the neckline facing to the front shirt (right sides together) and used tailor’s chalk to draw five triangles (easier with a template – oh, and don’t forget the seam allowance!). (4) I then carefully sewed along the triangles (using a shorter stitch length). (5) Next, I closely cut along the stitches and turned the facing to the inside of the front shirt (hiding the seam). (5) Lastly, it needed a good pressing, and after assembling the rest of the shirt, I carefully distributed and attached the bias tape to the neckline. I basically used the same technique for the sleeve facing, but since it’s only one triangle, I created a pattern piece for a single triangle facing (oh my, and this is the part where I am truly clueless as to how to describe it in words!). I basically added enough seam allowance to the triangle facing (about an 1/2 inch) so I could carefully fold the raw edges of the facings twice and secure it by topstitching. I truly hope this is helpful to you in any way! I actually prefer the look of the sleeve facing! I know, it sounds awfully complicated, but it’s not that hard after all… hope you’re having a great week! Love, Louise

  2. Simply gorgeous work. And a perfect choice of Liberty print.

  3. I love the fabric and all the details you have designed. It´s absolutely gorgeous!

  4. This is so cool! I absolutely love it! I found you via the Grainline blog and I’m so glad I did!

  5. It’s a wonderful work!!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

