PROJECTS // SILK BACK BRIAR SWEATER

silkbackbriarsweater1

Hello, dear reader!

I had no intention of abandoning this journal for more than two months (oh tell me, is it mid-March already?), but somehow my mind has been too restless after our very sudden decision to change our not-necessary-unhealthy-but-yet-improvable diet back in January. And as we eagerly tried (oh, and still try!) to navigate towards healthier eating habits – including extended food hunts and exciting kitchen adventures – there was little but no energy left for quiet sewing sessions. But today, I’m finally back to share my latest make with you.

I have a thing for contrasts in textures, even more so in monochromatic color schemes. That said, it was only a matter of time before this obsession would find its way into my handmade wardrobe. I decided to contrast a soft cotton-wool-cashmere knit with a fluid habotai silk, using Megan Nielsen’s admirable Briar sweater pattern. And, oh my… they pair so beautifully indeed! The drape of this little sweater is so luxurious. Lately, I can’t stop wearing navy blue, or even thinking about navy blue. I actually want to dress in navy blue, tone-on-tone, all day… everyday.

silkbackbriarsweater2

silkbackbriarsweater3

silkbackbriarsweater4

PATTERN: Briar Sweater by Megan Nielsen

FABRICS: Fine navy cotton-wool-cashmere knit and sheer navy habotai silk

silkbackbriar_fabrics

MODIFICATIONS: I added a hidden button fastening to the silk back panel (a bit unnecessary after all), reduced the width of the neckline binding and made a few small changes to the pocket piece (because it’s woven).

THOUGHTS: It amazes me how the loveliness of Megan Nielsen’s patterns simply quadruples with every new launch (so true for all independent pattern designers lately, I simply cannot keep up!). And what I love most about the Briar pattern is that I can simply shrug this one on over denim and I don’t even have to think about it again. While sewing, I decided to treat the back and front panel as separate garments, so all raw edges were hemmed and finished separately. The shoulders might be a tiny little bit to wide, but I’ll just keep that in mind for next time.

I have to admit that I still have that lovely stack of fall fabrics sitting right next to my sewing machine. Yes, I should really get back to sewing very soon… but first I need to recover from a short trip we took to the snowy mountains of Austria, catching up with your beautiful creations!

Hope your week is turning out to be a good one!

Love,

Louise

9 responses to “PROJECTS // SILK BACK BRIAR SWEATER

  1. Oh wow, another stunning creation! Your makes always look like incredibly expensive designer clothes. Kind of glad to hear I’m not the only one whose autumn sewing plans are still just plans…

  2. Oh Louise! This Briar takes my breath away!! It’s completely gorgeous, and i’m loving the use of silk in the back! i reallllly want one like this for myself now!!! Thank you so much for your kind words about my patterns :) Feedback like that is what makes the work completely worth it!! Big hugs honey, and i hope you enjoy more Briars!!
    XOXO

  3. it’s amazing, congrats! I decided now to buy the briar pattern next week. I saw so many nice briar shirts already, but yours tiped the balance :)

  4. Beautiful! I love the contrast in color and textures! So brilliant.

  5. This is fantastic! Well worth the wait! I love your blog so much, no matter how frequently you post– everything you make is stellar!

  6. Louise, this is stunning. Your version convinced me to try this pattern. I really love it – the silk back is a wonderful design detail.

  7. Hi Louise, this top is just lovely. I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster Award – I just lovely your fabric choices and the quality of your work. If you want to see what its all about there are some questions on my blog. If you’ve already done it before or you’re not interested thats absolutely fine! Sarah

  8. It was a brilliant idea to combine these two fabrics. I look forward to seeing more of your creations!

Leave a Reply

